NEB - Aboriginal Oral Testimony Audio

From August 2014 - January 2015 the National Energy Board (NEB) heard oral testimony from Aboriginal intervenors in the Trans Mountain Pipeline Expansion proposal.

The NEB offers this opportunity because "the Board understands that Aboriginal peoples have an oral traditional -- an oral tradition for sharing knowledge from generation to generation and this information cannot always be adequately shared in writing."

The court recorder, International Recording Inc., provided written transcripts of the oral testimony and offered the audio recordings for a fee. On December 8, 2014 I wrote a letter to the NEB requesting that they make an arrangement with their contractor to provide free access to the audio recordings to the public.

On April 10, 2015, I received a letter from the NEB. They agreed with my argument that written transcripts were not sufficient and arranged to make the audio recordings freely available to the public.

The content of these recordings is very important and they are an excellent resource for Canadians to gain a better understanding of Aboriginal communities in Alberta and British Columbia.

August 27, 2014

Metis Nation of Alberta:Gunn Metis Local 55

Ms. Murleen Crossen
Dr. Tracy Friedel

September 2, 2014

Sunchild First Nation

Mr. Edwin Frencheater
Mr. Robert Whitecalf
Mr. Gerry Redbear
Mr. Sidney Beaverbones
Ms. Doreen Daycheif-Frencheater

September 3, 2014

Samson Cree Nation

Mr. Henry Lightning
Mr. Dolphus Buffalo
Mr. Leo Bruno
Mr. Victor Bruno
Mr. Patrick Buffalo
Mr. Clayton Buffalo
Mr. Lawrence Saddleback
Mr. Harvey Buffalo
Ms. Norine Saddleback
Ms. Josephine Saddleback
Mr. Kenneth Saddleback 

Michel First Nation

Chief Gil Goerz
Mr. Roy Goerz
Ms. Jessie Loyer

September 4, 2014

O’Chiese First Nation

Chief Darrin Whitford
Mr. Windy Strawberry
Ms. Blondia Strawberry
Ms. Susan Bremner
Ms. Rosie Bremner
Mr. John Strawberry
Mr. Jerry Strawberry
Mr. John Whitford
Mr. Jimmy Littlejohn
Ms. Phyllis Whitford
Ms. Joanne Gladeau, interpreter

October 16, 2014

Shxw’ōwhámel First Nation

Mr. Albert McHalsie
Mr. Alfred James
Ms. Catherine Fagan (counsel)
Ms. Georgia Pears (counsel)

Tsleil-Waututh Nation

Ms. Leah George-Wilson
Mr. Gabriel George
Mr. Scott Smith (counsel)

October 17, 2014

Kwantlen First Nation

Councillor Tumia Knott
Councillor Les Antone
Mr. Richard Seward
Ms. Michelle Saul
Mr. Tim Dickson (counsel)

October 20, 2014

Musqueam Indian Band

Ms. Leona Sparrow
Mr. Richard Sparrow
Mr. James Reynolds (counsel)

October 21, 2014

Peters Band

Mr. Mark Peters
Councillor Victoria Peters
Elder Fran Genaille
Ms. Georgia Pears (counsel)

October 22, 2014

Katzie First Nation

Councillor Rick Bailey
Mr. Cyril Pierre
Mr. Burgess Pierre
Ms. Debbie Miller
Mr. Jesse McCormick (counsel)

Swinomish Indian Tribal Community

Chairman Brian Cladoosby
Mr. Ray Harris
Mr. Jan Hasselman (representative)
Ms. Kristen Boyles (representative)

Suquamish Tribe

Chairman Leonard Forsman
Ms. Shaylene Jefferson
Ms. Patti Gobin
Ms. Jan Hasselman (Representative)
Ms. Kristen Boyles (Representative)

October 23, 2014

Tulalip Tribes

Mr. Glen Gobin
Ms. Inez Bill
Ms. Deborah Parker
Ms. Jan Hasselman (Representative)
Ms. Kristen Boyles (Representative)

Lummi Nation

Mr. Dana Wilson
Ms. Jan Hasselman (Representative)
Ms. Kristen Boyles (Representative)


October 24, 2014

Hwlitsum First Nation

Councillor Janice Wilson
Dr. Bruce Miller
Ms. Glenna Borsuk
Mr. Paul Reid
Mr. Jeffrey Rath (counsel)

Squamish Nation

Chief Ian Campbell
Chief Richard Williams
Mr. David Jacobs
Mr. Aaron Bruce (counsel)
Ms. Michelle Bradley (counsel)

November 13, 2014 

Shackan Indian Band

Grand Chief Percy Joe
Mr. Lennard Joe
Elder Jimmy Toodlican
Mr. John Gailus (counsel)
Mr. Matthew Nefstead (counsel)

Janice Antoine

Ms. Janice Antoine
Mr. Albert Antoine
Grand Chief Percy Joe
Mr. Matthew Nefstead (counsel)
Mr. John Gailus (counsel)

November 14, 2014

Lower Nicola Indian Band

Chief Aaron Sam
Councillor Nicholas Peterson
Elder Vonnet Hall
Ms. Norma Hall
Ms. Martha Aspinall (interpreter)

Coldwater Indian Band

Chief Lee Spahan
Mr. Albert Antoine
Ms. Martha Aspinall
Ms. Joyce Andrew
Mr. Terry Spahan
Mr. Clarence Oppenheim
Ms. June Andrew
Ms. Emma Hume (counsel)

November 17, 2014

Nooaitch Indian Band

Chief Joyce Sam
Elder Arthur Sam
Elder Jimmy Fountain
Elder Joan Shackelly
Elder Amelia Washington
Elder Bert Seymour
Mr. Alan Hanna (counsel)
Ms. Berry Hykin (counsel)

Adams Lake Indian Band

Kúkwpi7 Nelson Leon
Kúkwpi7 Ron Jules
Sexpé7 Lawrence Michel
Mr. Robert Matthew
Mr. Dave Nordquist
Ms. Lisa Fong (counsel)
Ms. Julia Hincks (counsel)

November 18, 2014

Nesconlith Indian Band

Kúkwpi7 Judy Wilson
Elder William Jones Ignace
Dr. Janice Billy
Mr. Bert Deneault
Mr. Arthur Manuel
Ms. Nicole Schabus (counsel)

Stk’emlupsemc Te Secwepemc Nation

Chief Dr. Ron Ignace
Ms. Sarah Hansen (counsel)

November 19, 2014

Simpcw First Nation

Councillor Fred Fortier
Elder Mona Jules
Mr. Keith Matthew
Ms. Jennifer Hill (counsel)

November 20, 2014

Lheidli T’enneh First Nation

Chief Dominic Frederick
Mr. Karl Sturmanis
Mr. Keith Henry

Upper Nicola Band

Chief Harvey McLeod
Elder Mary Archachan
Mr. Fred (Scotty) Holmes
Mr. Lou Paul
Councillor George Saddleman
Ms. Crystal Reeves (counsel)
Ms. Brenda Gaertner (counsel)

November 24, 2014

Tsartlip First Nation

Chief Don Tom
Elder John Elliott
Elder Simon Smith, Sr.
Elder Tom Sampson
Mr. Gord Elliott
Mr. Eamon Murphy (counsel)
Mr. Alan Hanna (counsel)

Joni Olsen

Ms. Joni Olsen

T’Sou-ke Nation

Chief Gordon Planes
Ms. Georgia Pears (counsel)

November 25, 2014

Adam Olsen

Mr. Adam Olsen

Stz’uminus First Nation

Mr. Willie Seymour
Councillor Terry Sampson
Ms. Melinda Skeels (counsel)

November 26, 2014

Tseycum First Nation

Chief Vern Jacks
Ms. Kristen Bills (counsel)

Lyackson First Nation

Chief Pahalicktun - Richard Thomas
Ms. Kathleen Johnnie
Ms. Allison Russell (counsel)

November 27, 2014

Pacheedaht First Nation

Chief Arliss Daniels
Elder Bill Jones
Ms. Roxy-Merl Jones
Mr. Bruce Carlson
Mr. Carlson Charlie, Sr.
Councillor Jeff Jones
Ms. Helen Jones
Elder Marvin McClurg
Ms. Rosanne Kyle (counsel)
Ms. Megan McConnell (counsel)

Horse Lake First Nation

Mr. Casey Horseman
Mr. Timothy Bayly (counsel)

November 28, 2014

Tsawout First Nation

Mr. Eric Pelkey
Ms. Belinda Claxton
Mr. Earl Claxton, Jr.
Mr. Nick Claxton
Mr. Aaron Sam
Ms. Mavis Underwood
Ms. Brenda Gaertner (counsel)

January 28, 2015

Alexander First Nation

Chief Kurt Burnstick
Ms. Caroline O’Driscoll (counsel)

Adam Olsen

Stellys Cross Road, Brentwood Bay, BC, V8M 1J7